R.J.COLE

Staying true to yourself for your business. Well, are you?

In Identity on July 8, 2011 at 11:57 am

Dear Entrepreneurs,

It is a very good feeling when you realize that there is a need for your business and ideas, but there is an irritating side to this as well. Some clients will tell you exactly what it is they want from you when it is your goal to tell them what you think is best for them as the professional. I design my pieces based on what I think will complement you and will make you stand out. I think it is easy for entrepreneurs to lose themselves while growing their business. I’ve seen this happen. You have to determine very early on in your business what kind of business person you are. This is a big part in building your image too. If a customer asks you to design accessories that aren’t the kind of accessories that you usually design, tell them immediately that those are not the types of accessories that you design. It’s just not what I do. You must stay true to yourself.

What do you think? How important is your businesses identity to you?

R.J.COLE is on the rise

  1. I’m always true to myself for every purpose! I’m just now trying business;) lol

    • I think that that is one of the most important factors when building your own business. If you cannot identify yourself before you identity your business…you will only become lost in the game while other entrepreneurs succeed.

      -RJC

  2. Honesty is the best advice**

  3. I agree (as you know). Hopefully there will be customers who ARE looking for what you do the hard part is finding them.

  4. I do believe in having to tell one little white lie every now and then, though.

  5. The most challenging part is not satifying a new customer but its the Return Visit. The unique identity attracts customers who want your creative edge, its all mathmatics. Your Buisness Savvy+ the Customers’ Vision divided into what the paying partron loves about the dress, or hair style in my profession, with a twist of just exactly what your biz stands for= a Satisfied client plus referral

  6. In my work, I have come across prospects who believe they do not have a need for what I do. Before I exclaim,”I don’t do that kind of work!” I try to hook into what they claim is there need. On occasion, I have been able to persuade a prospect that he/she could have a need for what I do. In other instances, I have been able to accommodate reluctant prospects by helping them identify needs of which they may not have been aware. In other words, I am more about consultative selling to help augment my client base. This approach may not work for you, but I thought I might share it with you.

  7. Pardon my grammatical error! There should be their 🙂

  8. Ronnetta, you speak about being specific about the type and style of work you do – I agree with you! It saves time for both the client and designer.
    I am an oil painter and I have had some requests for work that is not my mainstream subjects. I have taken on some of these projects but only if I have had some experience and I’m comfortable. I like the “newsy” look and content of your new blog.

  9. I really enjoy your creation continue growing and going towards success

    • Dear George,

      I hope all is well.

      I will have created at-least 4 more pieces by this Sunday. I will send you a few photos. I appreciate your support.

      Many thanks!

      -RJC

Leave a Reply

