R.J.COLE

Dude, Where’s My Design?

In One of a Kind on June 15, 2011 at 9:15 pm

Dear entrepreneurs,

I went out for a lovely evening with my fiancee to see a movie. The movie was hilarious; we laughed until our faces hurt. So, right before the ending of the flick, what do I see? I see my signature piece/ accessory on one of the actresses in the movie. I want to be clear, it was not exactly my accessory, however it was pretty dam close. Too close for comfort. That is when and where the melt down happened, well the adult temper tantrum. My poor fiancee didn’t know what hit him or what could have stressed me so quickly. If I had to choose an emotion I felt at that moment and the rest of the entire weekend, it would certainly be frustration. I thought back to all of those late nights of me working on that particular piece. I began to feel that my creation became irrelevant, I still feel that way. When I saw my design in this years summer block buster movie, it made me feel like my idea had just been snatched right from underneath me. “What can you do?” It was hard not to think back to how I felt before leaving the house that particular night. I was able to say I had never seen an exquisite accessory like the one I’d created that’s in my home office.

I cannot afford for this to happen again. However, R.J.COLE is on the rise.

Leave a Reply

